The EuroCC project has officially started

4. 9. 2020.

The National Competence Centers in the Framework of EuroHPC (EuroCC) project started on September 1, 2020. As part of the project, the Croatian National Competence Center for High-Performance Computing will be established over the next two years.

The purpose of the project is to establish a network of national competence centers for high-performance computing in 33 member states of the European High-Performance Computing Joint Undertaking (EuroHPC JU). The aim is to support existing, or the creation in a maximum number of countries of up to one national HPC Competence Centre, in each of the EU Member States and EuroHPC JU Participating States. The national HPC Competence Centres should provide HPC services to industry (including to SMEs), academia and public administrations, delivering tailored /modular solutions for a wide variety of users, with an aim to ease and foster the transition towards wider uptake of HPC in Europe. This will strengthen existing and develop new competencies in the field of high-performance computing (HPC), and create the preconditions for joint participation in the construction and formation of financing and resource management policy in three areas: HPC, High-Performance Data Analytics (HPDA) and Artificial Intelligence (AI).

Competence centers for high-performance computing will become focal points coordinating all national initiatives and facilitating access of national stakeholders to European HPC competence and opportunities in different industrial sectors and domains. By establishing a network of national competence centers for HPC, the project will contribute to the full development of a sustainable European HPC ecosystem and the implementation of the HPC initiative of the European Commission.

The project coordinator is the University of Stuttgart, and SRCE is leading a consortium of Croatian institutions participating in the project:

  • Faculty of Electrical Engineering and Computing, University of Zagreb (FER);
  • Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Computer Science and Information Technology Osijek, Josip Juraj Strossmayer University of Osijek, (FERIT);
  • Faculty of Electrical Engineering, Mechanical Engineering and Naval Architecture, University of Split (FESB);
  • Ruđer Bošković Institute (RBI);
  • University Computing Center, University of Zagreb (SRCE);
  • University of Rijeka (UNIRI);
  • Faculty of Engineering, University of Rijeka (RITEH).

During the project, the Croatian National Competence Center for HPC will be established, where end users from the systems of science and higher education, industry and public administration will have access to innovative solutions adapted to the level of maturity of national and European HPC infrastructure and different user groups and their needs and requirements.

Through the Horizon 2020 program, the European Commission will finance 50% of eligible costs, and the remaining 50% of eligible costs of Croatian institutions will be financed by the Republic of Croatia, ie the Ministry of Science and Education, in accordance with the commitment of each EuroHPC JU member state.

Additional information about the EuroCC project, EuroHPC JU and the importance of HPC can be found on the EuroCC project website and in our newsletter "Srce novosti" no. 80.

EuroCC, EU i EuroHPC logotypes

“This project has received funding from the European High-Performance Computing Joint Undertaking Joint Undertaking (JU) under grant agreement No 951732. The JU receives support from the European Union’s Horizon 2020 research and innovation programme and Germany, Bulgaria, Austria, Croatia, Cyprus, Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Lithuania, Latvia, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom, France, Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, Slovakia, Norway, Switzerland, Turkey, Republic of North Macedonia, Iceland, Montenegro”